I Have Been Tatted!

tattooIt’s true! I’ve done it. But don’t leave just yet…

First, let’s revisit my previous post from July 2013.

In Judgement of … Tattoos.

This year has been fantastic in so many ways. I’m healthy, very happy and much more – I’m satisfied. But it’s because I have made an effort to make it so.

So about a month before Erica (my daughter) came home from college for Thanksgiving, I sent her this text: “I’m ready for my tattoo.”

I spent weeks on Pinterest and the Internet, trying to figure out what I wanted carved into my skin for the rest of my life. I decided that it had to be something about ME – not something random or about my kids. So I chose the one life-long message that I’m really passionate about – my feminism.

What exactly does that mean? The dictionary definition of feminism is “a doctrine or movement that advocates equal rights for women.” My definition goes a little further than that. To me it means being proud of my accomplishments because of (or in spite of) being a woman AND to help empower other women (both young and old) to believe in themselves the same way.

(Steps off of her soapbox.) Back to my tattoo. The words are from a passage from the novel Jane Eyre:

“I am no bird, and no net ensnares me.
I am a free human being with an individual will.”

I have gotten so much strength from those words, even if no one else can see them (except my fellow gym rats).

So by no means am I telling you to go out and get a tattoo. But if you don’t feel empowered, do something about it. Join that board, volunteer for that charity, take a lesson in that hobby, take that flight for the first time, be a mentor. Life is too short, and besides, you deserve it. You are woman…

3 thoughts on “I Have Been Tatted!

Join in the conversation!

Blog at WordPress.com.

