Pick of the Week!

imageFor those of you who have been following my blog since the beginning, you may notice a slight change in my format. Over the last year of writing, I have had many visitors from different age groups, gender (yes, I do have guys who follow – isn’t that awesome?), even countries.

So, my tagline “A conversation between busy women about style” has morphed into “A conversation between busy people about style – and everything else!” My goal is to continue to write about style, because that’s what I love – but to add tips and ideas for making everyone’s life a little easier – or at least more fun!

So this week’s Pick of the Week (or POW for short) is — the crockpot.

I have a love affair with my crockpot. Just think – you dump a bunch of stuff into it, and after a long day, you walk into the house to a heavenly smell of food cooking and a meal just waiting to be eaten. It’s a great way to eat healthy, and my favorite — leftovers!

You can find crockpots in every shape and size and price range, starting at less than $20 when they are on sale. So if you don’t own a crockpot, please stop, get in your car, and run to your nearest big-box store and get one. Go ahead, we’ll wait…

Seriously, in my humble opinion, no busy person should be found without a crockpot. As my gift to you, the following is my favorite crockpot recipe. My kids have been downing this one ever since they were little, and it comes out perfect every time. Bon Apetit!

(If you have a favorite crockpot recipe, please share!)

Crockpot Moroccan Chicken

(6) boneless chicken breasts, cut into pieces
(2) 16 oz. cans garbanzo beans (optional)
(1) 12 oz. can diced tomatoes
(1) red bell pepper, chopped
(1) onion, chopped
(2) T. tomato paste
1/4 c. chicken broth
(1) clove garlic
1-1/2 t. curry powder
(2) T. peanut butter

Mix together all ingredients except chicken and peanut butter, and pour into crockpot.

Place chicken on top. Cover.

Cook 6-7 hours on low. Right before serving stir in peanut butter.

Serve with couscous or rice.

3 thoughts on “Pick of the Week!

    • It depends on what you’re cooking. All types of beans do well, which makes chili an ideal crockpot meal. (I have a great recipe that includes a can of pumpkin purée.). Also cut your veggies in chunks rather than chopping – carrots, white potatoes. Squash, sweet potatoes, broccoli tend to go to mush. Mushrooms do well, and tomatoes turn into a sauce. Another beauty of crockpot cooking is that you can user cheaper cuts of meat, which makes your meal less expensive. I think you should definitely go for it!!

Join in the conversation!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

