The Eve of Asturias

Sounds like a classic poem or something, right? Actually, it means that tomorrow I will be on a plane to Oviedo (in Asturias, Spain)! And, as fate would have it — and always does — it’s 11:45 pm, and I’m still not finished packing.

You’d think that as much as I used to travel overseas, I’d be more prepared. I think that’s actually why this happens. I’ve gotten to the point where I basically know what I have to take, so I don’t think about the details – like laundry, groceries, the people and the dog staying behind — Oh, and then there’s what shoes to take — that always make it take longer than planned.

This post will be a little random, but I thought I would record my thoughts as I packed…

First, since I made this cardigan specifically for this trip, I will share my latest knitting Finished Object, what I call “El Albaricoque” (or The Apricot). For my knitting friends, the pattern is Lady Marple by Nadia Cretin-Letenne made out of Borroco Vintage. I especially like the buttons.

One of the factors that we (my daughter and I) have to consider on this trip is the weather. It’s still fairly cool in Northern Spain – high 50s, low 60s and rainy – and we plan to spend a lot of time outside, walking, shopping, visiting, etc. So layering is key.

I happened to be at an Old Navy store a couple of weeks ago, and they were having a blow-out sale. Prices were already marked down, everything in the store was 20% off, and they handed me a coupon for an additional 15% as I walked in the door. I discovered a shelf of v-neck, lightweight tunic sweaters in a multitude of colors that, after all of the discounts, cost less than $5 each!! I bought 3 colors, and I will be able to wear them dozens of ways.

I am also taking my Old Navy jean jacket that I bought about 10 years ago. It is cut for a women with a little waist shaping, and the fabric has a tiny bit of stretch in it. The classic jean jacket will never go out of style. You can throw it on over a summer dress for a casual look, or layer it over a sweater and add a scarf for warmth. And they are as stylish as ever in Europe.

Another of my traveling essentials is a Vera Bradley bag that I received as a Christmas gift 2 years ago. This bag is actually a lunch bag, but it functions perfectly as a toiletry bag. Since it’s lined with plastic, spills and leaks aren’t a problem. The entire top zips open, making it easy to find things, and there are 2 very roomy pockets with velcro closures on the front for jewelry, smaller items, etc. The rectangular shape fits nicely into the side of any suitcase, and you can carry it right to the bathroom when you get to your destination.

Here’s another tip — Did you know that you can use hair conditioner to shave your legs? Shaving cans can burst under the pressure in-flight, and you probably already have a bottle of conditioner in your bag for your hair. That’s one less bottle you have to squeeze in!

For a few more of my essentials, scroll down to the pictures.

I must get to sleep, because the Big Day will be here in a matter of hours. Please check back, as I plan to blog while I’m in Spain.

Hasta luego!

My latest FO

My latest FO

Love the buttons!

Love the buttons!

Old Navy tunic sweaters and jean jacket.

Old Navy tunic sweaters and jean jacket.

Vera Bradley lunch bag

Vera Bradley lunch bag

More essentials - black and white t-shirts, both short- and long-sleeved.  Use them for layering.

More essentials – black and white t-shirts, both short- and long-sleeved. Use them for layering.

More essentials - If you're going to Europe, don't forget the scarves. Lots and lots of scarves.

More essentials – If you’re going to Europe, don’t forget the scarves. Lots and lots of scarves.

And last but not least - I opted for more practical for walking.  Cushioned ballet flats, driving loafers, and tassel loafers.  Not as cute as heels, but a heck of a lot easier to walk in.

And last but not least – I opted for more practical for walking. Cushioned ballet flats, driving loafers, and tassel loafers. Not as cute as heels, but a heck of a lot easier to walk in.

3 thoughts on “The Eve of Asturias

  1. By this time you’ve probably already landed in Europe, I hope that you have a FANTASTIC trip! Your beautiful and simple packing is inspiring.

    • Monica, it was a perfect but very long trip. Erica and I have walked miles around the city, had pizza at a wine bar and pastries and “cafe con leche” at an outdoor bakery. We just made it back to the hotel ready to crash and and start our first whole day in Asturias tomorrow.

  2. Pingback: Getting ready to Go with the big 2 0 | Notes of a student heading Spain-wards

Join in the conversation!

Blog at WordPress.com.

