The Workshop – Part 2

imageEveryone should make at least one vision board in their lifetime. Even if you don’t “get it” – the process is so much fun. It’s like coloring as a kid, and you end up with something that lives on to encourage you when nothing or no one else can.

At the Finding Your Truth workshop on Saturday, hosted by my friend Mandy Ford (This Girl’s Life blog), we made Truth Cards, a collection of what I call “portable vision boards”. There are two steps to this exercise: 1) cutting out anything that catches your eye from a magazine, whether it be a word, a phrase, a picture or color, without any particular reason. 2) To organize your cut-outs into something that will help motivate you to a goal. In this case, it’s to comfort or make us feel validated when our day just plain sucks.

My Truth Cards are a series of things that I need. I thought I would share them with you.

The Cover

My current truth is dealing with my twins (and only children – might I add, the most awesome children that God ever created) going to college. After one of the most unsettling things I’ve done, I have managed to turn the “devastation” into the opportunity to do everything I ever wanted to do, but didn’t have the time. Hence, “what’s next.”

My Accomplishments

My Accomplishments

These are the things that I’m most proud of. For 20 years, I worked with a large corporation in international sales. I traveled overseas about 50% of the time, and when I was managing sales offices in London and Paris, I got pregnant. (No, not a surprise. We were very happy.) I was able to balance my job and home, baking homemade cookies and recording bedtime stories before I left for a destination far from home. And when I’d had enough, I had the courage to pack it all in to stay home with them — the best three years of my life.

What makes me happy.

What makes me happy.

Simple things: coffee – very strong with lots of cream; shoes – never too many; my blog; and, of course, my knitting.

Big Changes

Big Changes

The New Workout Rules — I’ve always thought that if I didn’t go to an hour-long spinning class five days a week, it didn’t matter. These days, a walk around the block is at least something. I’m still striving toward the 5-day-a-week thing, but I won’t beat myself up if I don’t make it.

The others: My De-clutter Party – organizing my chaos one closet at a time; changing my eating habits to a very healthy, mostly paleo diet; and surviving Menopause Hell.

My Reminders

My Reminders

Reminders: Always do my best (I struggle with boredom); never stop learning (I try to learn something new every day); always look for inspiration to keep the creative juices flowing; and play more often!

There you have it. I hope that I’ve inspired you to create your own set of Truth Cards.

Live joyfully, my friends…

2 thoughts on “The Workshop – Part 2

  1. I love this idea! I came across a website for a ranch where women gather for support and creativity. They get pampered and set their creativity free – it sounded sooooo good. These Truth Cards must have been great fun to craft. 🙂

Join in the conversation!

Blog at WordPress.com.

