Let’s go shopping!

My Pick of the Week for a snowy March 25 is a modern retail line that is quickly developing a name for themselves in the U.S. – UNIQLO.

In 1984, Tadashi Yanai opened the first UNIQLO store in Hiroshima, Japan. Since then, the brand has evolved from a single store to one of the fastest-growing retail chains in the world.

The goal of UNIQLO is to make clothes for everyone, regardless of age, gender, occupation, ethnicity or other labels used to define people. Their clothes are simple, yet they have a certain international edge to their designs. Oh, and did I mention that their prices are unbelievable?!

The business model of UNIQLO reminds me very much of H&M, the department store chain from Europe that now has stores in most larger American cities. Although there are currently only a handful of UNIQLO stores in the U.S. (New York, New Jersey and San Francisco), I’ve already checked them out online here.

Here are a few items that I have my eye on.

I love the shape of this blouse and the 3/4 length sleeves.  With a pair of straight-leg or skinny jeans - very Audrey Hepburn.

I love the shape of this blouse and the 3/4 length sleeves. With a pair of straight-leg or skinny jeans – very Audrey Hepburn. $29.90

Love this print.  I would wear this over jeans or leggings.  $39.90

Love this print. I would wear this over jeans or leggings. $39.90

Made of lightweight cotton, this would be great with white pants.

Made of lightweight cotton, this would be great with white pants. $29.90

How CUTE is this??  $59.90

How CUTE is this?? $59.90

Lots of colors and an elastic waistband.  With a t-shirt and sandals or flipflops --sounds like an alternative to a sweatsuit!  $29.90

Lots of colors and an elastic waistband. With a t-shirt and sandals or flipflops –sounds like an alternative to a sweatsuit! $29.90

Take a look at their website and let me know what you like.  Just one warning — Step AWAY from the pleated pants and the overalls!!

And if anyone has any experience with this line, I’d love to know about the quality.   Let us know.

4 thoughts on “Let’s go shopping!

  1. Saw something on the news earlier today about this company – loved how when someone looked into the mirror, the color of the item automatically changed when they said the name of a color out loud. Was pretty cool – I really like your selections above, especially the print skirt and the gingham jacket. One more thing, your closet make-over inspired me to perform a similar task – I have cleared out the clutter, bought a hanging unit for shoes which I have put sweaters, rolled to avoid creases. My walk in closet now has floor space I haven’t seen in months. Thanks for the boost!

  2. Seems a lot like Steve & Barry’s to me – and I miss them SO MUCH! So I hope that this one is a financial success – simple style that fits most people and pocketbooks.

Join in the conversation!

Blog at WordPress.com.

