Top 10 Wardrobe Essentials

imageIf you’ve been reading my blog since I began writing in December, you know that I admire and respect Tim Gunn. Tim is known for his Top 10 Wardrobe Essentials that continue to be important and relevant from year to year.

Over the next week, I will go into detail about each of these essentials – a little human interest about each one, plus some tips on where to find each and how to put them together. I might even disagree with Tim on a couple of his essentials and give you my version.

But first, let’s look at the list:

1) Classic Blazer
2) Dress pants
3) Skirt
4) Classic white shirt
5) Day dress
6) Good pair of jeans
7) Basic black dress
8) Cashmere sweater
9) Alternative to the sweatsuit
10) Trench coat

Sound too common sense? If so, go back through the list and check off how many of these you have in your closet that fit you well and that are in good shape. For example, if the lining of your pencil skirt is showing, doesn’t count. If the dress pants don’t make your butt look great, doesn’t count. If the blazer won’t button or has patches on the elbows (LOL), doesn’t count. And Mom jeans…well, don’t get me started!

These 10 items can build an entire wardrobe, for both work and play. It doesn’t have to be expensive, either. However, for these 10 items, spend as much as you can afford. You’ll be wearing these often, and you want them to last.

Once you build this foundation, you can go out and spend your money on the really fun things to go with them – the yellow patent flats (in my closet); the leopard booties (on my wish list); or the turquoise bubble necklace (just arrived today!).

So let’s get started!!

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Wardrobe Essentials

  1. I’m looking forward to this! Makes me think about the gaps in my wardrobe. Maybe I should commit to looking for one of these items a month over the next year – kind of like a scavenger hunt that gives me a good excuse to go clothing shopping.

    • Monica, good idea. You could start with the pieces that you would wear more often, like the dress pants, jacket or white shirt, and leave the things like the black dress and trenchcoat for when you can find a great deal!

  2. I think I would also add an amazing pair of boots to the list of essentials. You can wear them with just about anything and they make simple outfits looks better!

  3. I have a difficult time finding a classic white shirt that’s comfortable and doesn’t gap. I also haven’t worn a dress in many years so I guess I should start with these things.

    • Rhonda, I’m not sure how to respond to your comment about the white shirt. Have you tried a stretch material or something more fitted in the waist? Does anyone have any suggestions for her?

      I really like wrap dresses in a matte jersey fabric. They are so comfortable, don’t wrinkle, and can be worn either alone or with a jacket in place of a suit.

  4. Pingback: Easy as 1, 2 3! | Simply Swank

  5. Pingback: What’s not to love about a crisp, white shirt? | Simply Swank

  6. Pingback: Get “dressed”! | Simply Swank

  7. Pingback: Wardrobe Wrap-Up | Simply Swank

Join in the conversation!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

