The Reckoning – Finale

Finished!

Finished!

Finished!

About a month ago, I decided that it was high time for me to face the black hole called “My Closet”.  I had my work cut out for me, and so I broke it into 3 phases.

In Phase 1, I tackled my purses, shoes and a huge pile of “stuff” that took up an entire shelf in my walk-in closet.  I separated the pile into items to keep, donate and throw away (because many of the items were old t-shirts, etc. that I felt had lived a good life).

In Phase 2, I created an expensive scarf organizer from an idea that I had seen on Pinterest.

The Finale was my hanging clothes.  I had gotten to the point where it was taking me so long to get ready for work, simply because I couldn’t find anything in the chaos.  This final phase proved to be a lot more work than I expected.

Once again, I separated each item by keep, give away or throw away.  Then I started organizing – dresses, suits, skirts, blouses, company logo wear on one side; pants, work sweaters, turtlenecks and nice t-shirts, cardigans, sweaters and jeans.  Whew!

I even went one step further, and arranged outfits for my entire work week at the front of one rack.

I love my new closet!  I hope I have inspired you to do something to make your life a little easier!

Before...

Before…

...After.

…After.

4 thoughts on “The Reckoning – Finale

  1. Great job! I see one opportunity that will increase storage space immensely. There is space for a shelf to run around the closet walls above the purses and show boxes. This not only increases storage but allows you to separate further: everyday shoes on one shelf, less used on the top. The Container store is running its last days of a sale on Elfa shelving which is very good or you can get help from Home Depot.

    • Thanks Mitch! Even though I’m really lucky to have this large closet, I can still use more space. I would love to have 2 layers of hanging bars, but as tall as I am, it doesn’t really work. The extra shelves would help.

  2. Yay! Great job!

    I saw a fun suggestion from Sassy Seconds and this post about your closet reminded me to share it. They suggest that when you change your closet over for the season, you begin with all of your hangers pointed in one direction. Then, when you wear something, turn the hanger around to point in the opposite direction. At the end of the season, asses what you “think” you wear with what you’ve actually worn through the season. I know I would be surprised. There are always those couple of shirts that I think I love, but can never find anything to wear them with. So, if I’ve gone a whole season skipping them, I either need to find a real way to wear them or donate them so someone else can.

    I’d like to try this, but my current closet is REALLY small, so it’s hard to turn around my hangers. I’ll maybe use it in the future though.

Join in the conversation!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

