It’s Only Hair!

imageI’ve always had a love-hate relationship with my hair.  Let me paint a picture…

1960s
Five years old, beautiful soft strawberry blond curls down to my waist.  One afternoon while my mom was on the phone, I decided to end my relationship with my hair and cut it all off.   It wouldn’t have been so bad, except for the family wedding the following Saturday in which I was appearing as the flower girl.  Uh oh…

1970s
The style was stick straight, and my hair had developed into a very large, very frizzy curly mess. The only styling product we had back then was Dippity Doo. So I would pile my wet hair in a ponytail on top of my head, wrap it around a plastic Tropicana orange juice can, and wear a bonnet hair dryer to bed. It actually worked pretty well – until I walked out the door, and POOF, back to the frizzy curly mess.

In high school, I would have given my right arm for a bouncy ponytail. So one afternoon, I bought a relaxer kit, and I straightened my hair. It looked fantastic – until it starting breaking off in clumps. That’s when I went short.

1980s
The dawn of styling products. Gels, mousses, sprays, curling brushes, special blow dryer attachments. I was in heaven, and I had resigned myself to a life of short hair. But I didn’t mind. Even before Business Casual when I wore a suit to work everyday, I expressed myself through my hair. I had it cut every 3 weeks, and I would challenge my stylist to change it every time. I was starting to have fun.

Today
I’ve come to love my short hair. About 2 months ago, I went RED – deep, rich, vibrant burgundy red that grows out to a really nice copper tone. So last Saturday, I couldn’t wait to get to the salon and do it all over again. And after all those years of struggling, I finally have my frizzy curly mess under control, thanks to a combination of styling products and my trusty tiny flat iron.

I learned to work with it instead of against it. To use it as a way to express myself. And you definitely can’t say that I was ever in a rut!

Is your hair in a rut? Does it look the same as it did in your senior picture? Wedding picture? Do you have a Pinterest folder for all the hairstyles you dream about? Or are you waiting for the “perfect” haircut to make a change?

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, you’re cheating yourself. Start small — bangs, layers, highlights, a slightly lighter or darker color. Or you can jump right in with both feet like I did and do something really drastic. And always remember…

…it’s only hair!

5 thoughts on “It’s Only Hair!

  1. I absolutely love this post! I can totally relate to it. I’ve always had long, thick hair and I love to change it. It’s fun to find new colors, cuts, and styles. I love looking through magazines to find new ideas. By the way, you look great with short, red hair 🙂

  2. My hair and I have had a very similar relationship. In the 90’s when straight flat hair was in, I had big poofy, partially-curly, frizzy hair that refused to bend to my will. I also had no idea how to use styling products.

    Honestly I didn’t get it under control until I was 25. I learned that if I permed my long unruly hair it would all be the same texture and easy to style. I also learned about gel. Then a few years later I cut it all off and LOVE LOVE LOVE my short hair. So much easier to deal with!!

  3. After I threw my hair dryer into it’s drawer and stomped out of the bathroom because my hair wouldn’t do what I wanted it to, I sat down at my computer and read your post. I have fine, straight hair when I want thick hair full of body which I strive for every morning, which is evident on my Pinterest board titled “My Style”. Haha. I often times allow whether or not my hair cooperated to set my mood for the morning. I finally decided not long ago that I should accept with gratitude the hair that I was given and quit trying to make it something it’s not … I’m still working on that.

Join in the conversation!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

