My Reckoning – Part 2 (Making Progress!)

Before...

Before…

Last week, I bared my closet to the world in the hopes of creating motivation to tackle the chaos. (If you missed that post, read it here.)

I must admit, I have gotten such a sense of accomplishment walking into my closet in the morning — or should I say being ABLE to walk into my closet! So I was motivated today to take another small bite and work on organizing my scarves.

I had seen a very simple idea on Pinterest, and I thought I’d try it. I found everything I needed at Wal-Mart, and here’s what I ended up having in it:

...After!

…After!

1) sturdy hanger – I chose a suit hanger from my husband’s closet. You could make this look a little more stylish by using a nice wooden or colored hanger to match your closet.

2) shower curtain rings

3) wall hanger – I chose one of the 3M products that don’t damage the wall. If I change my mind and decide to move or remove the hanger, the hook peels right off.

Since I have so many scarves, I chose to position my hanger higher up on the wall. That way, if I decide to add a second hanger, there is room below the first.

What do you think?

P.S. I’ve had a number of you ask about the YouTube video that I posted earlier in the blog. Here it is again:

25 Ways to Wear a Scarf
by wendyslookbook

5 thoughts on “My Reckoning – Part 2 (Making Progress!)

  1. I’m a little addicted to cleaning out my closet and my dresser drawers. I do it every few months and I don’t like to keep a lot of clutter. I try to go through my entire house at least once a year if not more. But, I have a 4 year old and everything seems to multiply faster than I can clean it out 🙂 Your post definitely inspires me to find new ways to get organized 🙂

    By the way, thank you for posting the video. It’s a good one 🙂

    • Shaye, we should all be inspired by your example. I tend to get overwhelmed by the enormity of it all, and I don’t even get started. That’s why the “small bite” method seems to be working.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. I love that your solution to your scarf storage looks so nice along with keeping your scarves organized and tidy. I’ll have to remember the shower curtain ring suggestion, I think something like that would work for belts as well, they tend to get disorderly in my closet. Also, love the scarf video. I’ll need to watch it several more times to try some of the more complicated twists and knots.

    • Monica, it makes me feel so organized! Last night I was picking out my clothes for today, and it was so much easier with all of my scarves visible in one place.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: The Reckoning – Finale | Simply Swank

Join in the conversation!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

