It’s Monday – Pick of the Week

imageI believe that blogs are misunderstood. Let’s start from the beginning.

The word “blog” is a shortened version of weB LOG. It is defined as “a Web site containing the writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other Web sites.”

The website itself is the blog. The writer’s entry is called a Post. And the responses by the readers are called Comments.

Now that we have that out of the way, we can get to the fun part.

I love reading blogs. Yes, I do admit, it can be overwhelming if you subscribe to too many. I like to choose my blogs by a combination of things: the look of the website (the marketing geek me), the way the reader writes (the language major me) and the topic (the impatient me).

The best part about blogs is that they bring together a community of like-minded people. If you are interested in red-bellied frogs, there will be a blog out there – or perhaps hundreds – written by other red-bellied frog enthusiasts. Professionally, I get most of my industry information from blogs. They are timely, quick to read, and I like developing a relationship with the author. And since most bloggers allow you to comment on their posts, the blog becomes more interactive than a magazine article.

In celebration of the blog, and as a favor to my fellow bloggers, Mondays on Simply Swank will be dedicated to my blog recommendations. I will share with you blogs that I think are interesting or worth reading. Feel free to share your recommendations as well.

This week’s feature:

This Girl’s Life by Mandy Ford

Mandy is a 30-something working mother of adorable twin boys and wife to hunky husband Dan. Mandy is uber-creative, and her blog shows it. She makes jewelry, knits baby hats, shares her favorite outfits and her awesome DIY home decorating projects.

You can check out Mandy’s blog here.

ENTER OUR JANUARY GIVE AWAY!

Leave your comment for a chance to win! (See January 1 post for details.)

Join in the conversation!

Blog at WordPress.com.

